New Build, More Awesome. Beta Delights!

14 Aug

Well my shadetastic friends (fantastic plus shady, in case you’re late to the party), we’ve got a new build of the Beta and some sweet changes.  Some of them are bittersweet, but most are just sweet.  Let’s go through them!

  • Mind Spike revamped – Blasts the target for 1082.81 to 1144.05 Shadowfrost damage, and increases the critical strike chance of your next Mind Blast on the target by 30%. Stacks up to 3 times.

They told us they’d redesign this spell, and it doesn’t surprise me that they are still playing with it.  The goal is to have a different button to push for trash/fast kill targets.  I’m a fan (obviously) but let’s see how it pans out for them.  To further reinforce this, Blizz has made this change:

  • Archangel now also increases your frost damage when used as Dark Archangel (Shadowform).

A burn rotation and a different style of play for quick burst is what we’ve been asking for, so its nice to see the designers giving that some attention.

  • Shadow Word: Death cooldown changed to 10 sec, down from 12 sec. Damage increased by 10%.
  • If they intend to seriously bring Shadow Word: Death back, this is a part of that picture.  I mis more risk in our rotations, so I support this.

  • Mind Flay now deals damage over 3 sec, down from 5 sec.
  • I always kind of assumed this was a bug, but either way I’m glad our rotation isn’t getting a mindshattering change (you know, other than the ones it already got).

  • Vampiric Touch no longer deals damage if dispelled.
  • Given that the damage wasn’t really a deterrent before, and that Sin and Punishment will be a real US style effect, I’m fine with the developers keeping us balanced.

  • Twisted Faith is now a Tier 2 (Down from Tier 5) 2-Ranks (Down from 3 Ranks) Talent. Revamped – Increases your chance to hit with shadow spells by 1/2%, and grants you spell hit rating equal to 50/100% of any Spirit gained from items or effects.
  • GREAT.  This is downright awesome.  This makes gearing for us a lot more possible, and it opens up some rad PvP/Soloing opportunities in the shadow tree for our healing cousins.  I’ve been asking for this for a while, and I’ve been secretly jealous of our Boomkin and elemental shaman cousins. Don’t tell them.

  • Mind Melt now stacks up to 2 Times. (Down from 3)
  • How our rotation is going to work is getting some attention.  These kind of changes aren’t going to be completely understood until we have a chance to practice a real rotation on mobs or raid bosses at level 85.

  • Empowered Shadow Orbs is now named Harnessed Shadows.
  • Blizzard developers don’t read my blog, but they sure do hear my prayers.  Thank you for renaming at least one of the lame talents!

  • Improved Mind Blast now gives your Mind Blast a 33/66/100% (up from 20/40/60%) chance to reduce all healing done to the target by 25% for 10 sec.
  • This is another “we knew they were going to do it but had waited so long we started to wonder” talents.  Thanks.

  • Improved Devouring Plague is now a 2 Ranks talent, down from 3 Ranks. Revamped – Your Devouring Plague instantly deals damage equal to 15/30% of its total periodic effect.
  • Hmm… okay.  If this is needed to balance out our damage, I’ll buy it.  Fewer ranks in core talents mean more points to put interesting places, of course!

  • Paralysis *New* (Tier 5) – When you critically hit with your Mind Blast, you cause the target to be unable to move for 2/4 sec.
  • I don’t feel like we’re doing badly in PvP right now, and this talent gives us no real PvE utility, so I’m wondering what its doing here.  Either way, it looks like Blizzard is telling me to get ready for some PvP awesomeness!

    So far, the new build looks solid.  I’m strongly considering leveling up a second priest in Cata.  Any suggestions for race?  Goblins are calling to me, but a Tauren priest has some awesome lore.

    9 Responses to “New Build, More Awesome. Beta Delights!”

    1. Dusknoir August 14, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

      I can’t wait for the talent calculators to be updated; yet another awesome build for shadow priests! One key change which I didn’t see mentioned was that Shadowy Apparitions have 5 health, can be killed and are targeted by AOEs. It might just be a beta quirk, though.

      • calsong August 14, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

        They stated somewhat officially that they’re not done with the SAs, so I held off on the QQing.

        They shouldn’t go live with 5 health if they can be killed by AoE damage. I predict either moderate damage and immunity to damage, or reasonably damage and totem-like damage resistances.

        • kirintorfamiliar August 15, 2010 at 6:32 am #

          Well shoot me, but I really hope that the apparitions stay this way. Mainly because I main a pvp (sort of) Mage and really don’t want to have to deal with shaman totems all over again. Much love to my shadowy meter competetion though :p

    2. calsong August 15, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

      With 5 HP and no AoE immunity, SAs will die to any boss “aura” effect (examples: Blood Queen, Festergut, Lich King, Sindragosa, Blood Princes, etc.). This makes them almost useless in PvE.

      Re: the PvP application, I’m fine with them being killable, but it should force your opponent to make this choice. If a Mage can one-shot an appiration with a quick frostbolt, that’s all good. If he can passively ignore them because frost armor kills them before they hit him, that’s an issue. Good PvP should come down to making choices.

      • kirintorfamiliar August 15, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

        Shadow priests are one of the few classes I don’t totally fail at attempting to beat. Mainly because I’m a fail mage. But this Phantasm talent you’re getting is just the icing on the cake. If I can’t snare you, I can’t have the lucky root, and then a frost nova free shatter combo.

        But I see your point on the PvE uselessness. I’d say make them like mirror image, but make them targetable by name in PvP so my lock buddy can do the old totem-stomping trick.

        In all seriousness, Spriests are shaping up to be one of the cooler classes come Cata. My mage is being tuned by a bunch of monkeys. (the mana boost to damage thing for arcane? who the heck came up with that?!) (And the fact that fire mages are turning into warlocks! It’s a flippin travesty!) It’s a good thing I have a level 74 spriest in case I decide to switch mains. And I’m definitely feeling the pressure, Dark Archangel is mind-blasting (pun intended).

        • calsong August 16, 2010 at 8:26 am #

          The spriest duel isn’t a good match-up for you now. Phantasm isn’t new, its just a rename of the current WotLK talent Improved Shadowform. We can already pop snares on a 24 second cooldown, not to mention our ability to dispel them.

          In addition we can cast shadow word: death as you polymorph us to break your poly. We can offensively dispel all your buffs including Ice Barrier and Mana Shield, and when you iceblock we can mass dispel it or choose to heal up to full.

          If you’re beating a shadow priest now, they’re doing it wrong.

        • kirintorfamiliar August 16, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

          Well I’m kind of a backwards mage. I am terrible against melee, but I destroy non-destro-lock casters. And Phantasm isn’t new? weird. But dispels make me nerdrage, although if I see mass dispel I blink away. I usually manage to counterspell your Vampiric Touch, and then just shatter combo while you’re standing there dispelling on me.

          But Cataclysm is looking like the deal-breaker for me. Spriests are *definitely* going to have a massive upper hand against me. But who knows, maybe I’ll actually learn how to beat warriors. (Charge in combat kills me. Can’t kite a dern charge.)

    3. calsong August 16, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

      Blink the charge.

      • kirintorfamiliar August 17, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

        I think they have multiple ways of getting on me, because I always blink the first charge/whatever, but blink is always on cooldown for the next two or three charge/whatevers.

        Then again, if I truly ambitted being a good mage, I’d go and look up all of a warrior’s abilities. I’m not going to lose this fight against you spriests yet though!

        Also, you stopped mid-sentence addressing the Mind Melt changes. Fix please, I like hearing your opinions on new interesting talents.

    Leave a Reply

