SC2 vs WoW: The Endless Battle of Player Interest

28 Jul

Let me start by getting a few things off my chest:

SC2 is awesome

Raiding short some key players is a frustrating experience

I haven’t slept even my usually small amount of time

SC2 is awesome

The experience of the campaign is another example of Blizzard’s extremely talented storytellers letting loose and delivering a deep and immersive gaming experience. A lot of our guild members are as excited by this game as I am.

Some folks aren’t. I held back my excitement for long enough to raid last night and do a post-raid-debrief with a few new recruits. Other guild members I’ve talked to either don’t like RTS games or are busy enough with WoW.

I respect that, so I’ve tried to keep the chatter in check. It’s good to reflect that not everyone is always going to be wildly enthusiastic about the same things.

Our new recruits all show varying levels of promise. We can hand out experience and gear very easily (which all three of them are lacking in slightly), but attendance and enthusiasm are hard to teach. My hope is that a little competitive spirit in our raid group will strengthen attendance.

Blogging has been slow for me. Last night I made the choice to board the Hyperion rather than polish of an spriest guide I’ve been working on. I promise to work on it this week. No promises yet on when it gets posted.

4 Responses to “SC2 vs WoW: The Endless Battle of Player Interest”

  1. Cassandri July 28, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    RST isn’t my thing. Starcraft II sure does look pretty though. Even if you send up with two armies at a standoff blasting lasers at each other.

    My roommate plays SCII while I’m raiding. I’d happily never hear the sound of those lasers ever again.

    Although I do find it funny that the voice over frequently says “With me, raiders!” or something like that. Is he talking to me?

    • Cassandri July 28, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

      RTS* even

      • calsong July 29, 2010 at 12:14 am #

        Actually, you’re him. So… you’re talking to your raiders. Its a fun game, although I’ll admit I’m terribad at it.

  2. antlergirl August 2, 2010 at 1:47 am #

    I actually really am enjoying SCII. The story is really pulling me in, though I’m more the ‘build a huge army and steamroll your enemy’-kinda player. I don’t really have tactics like my husband has.

Leave a Reply

