Are We Having Fun Yet?

15 Jul

Bored?  Its a complaint I hear often, even from the most motivated of players.  Ever run laps around Dalaran or hoped from spike to spike on the Orgrimar bank (I’m sure there’s an equivalent for Alliance players—maybe falling into the Ironforge trench?)?  World of Warcraft continues to be a team game.  I can’t do arenas without my teammates, and a 25 player raid takes… well, it takes more than just me.

I want to make two major points here:  there is more to do in this game than most people can ever accomplish; community takes effort.

This is a BIG Game

Achievements have opened up a lot of the crazy things folks used to just do for the fun of it.  I personally get a thrill out of treating each achievement as a long term goal or a brief puzzle.  Adding this sort of challenge can let you bond with guildies, explore some content you’ve never checked into before, or just have a good time soloing something challenging.

Go solo MgT.  Any class at 80 can do it, but it requires some kiting, CC, or general co-ordination.

Farm BGs for the various achievements in them.  I spent a week getting all the Base Caps in AB and had an absolute blast doing it.  Queue up for a random battleground and just track whatever achievements seem do-able once you get in.  For added adventure, invite a few guild members to tag along.

Level an alt.  While I love it when folks show main toons the dedication they deserve, leveling an alt can teach you a lot about the game you might have forgotten or overlooked the first/second/third time around.  Since the advent of the the dungeon finder system leveling can be a smooth and painless process, free of grinding or even question.  It can be, but more often you get in a group with a hunter.  Either way, its an adventure worth having.

Gold Cap.  Going into Cataclysm with a little nest-egg isn’t a bad plan.  There’s a lot of ways to make money when an expansion launches, but I’d personally like to focus my efforts on just enjoying the new content.  To do so, I worked the AH and my various crafting professions hard and gold capped my priest.  That gives you a lot more flexibility in terms of gearing and leveling in a new expansion.

Put in the Effort to Build Community

If you’re doing something fun, try to bring others along.  While guildies are best, friends lists are handy for grouping up with other folks.  Random Heroics can always be done with a pal.  Leveling an alt?  Do it with a friend.  Getting all the achievements for the Red Proto Drake can be an amazing opportunity to make four good friends who last years.

At its very core, WoW is a social game.  It is about connecting with people, learning with them, and enjoying your time together.  You need to make this happen!  Join a guild.  Once established in it, don’t forget about building friendships outside of it.  A healthy raider compares notes with the best players out there, even outside of one’s guild.  Struggling on a fight?  Talk to that guy you did BGs with the other day who raid leads for the top guild on the server.

Boredom is easily overcome by personal direction, or some serious community building.  Put the effort into this game, and it will reward you with endless hours of entertainment and exciting new friendships!

8 Responses to “Are We Having Fun Yet?”

  1. Dyre42 July 16, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    “Since the advent of the the dungeon finder system leveling can be a smooth and painless process”

    I must be in the wrong battlegroup then because the my forays into the LFG Tool have a 50% failure rate in the lvl 68 to 79 range.

    • calsong July 16, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

      That is a legit point. When leveling up my tank I wrote this macro: “/p Okay guys, I’m going to pull quickly, but if I stop, assume there’s a good reason. If you need me to stop, please say something”

      Like any group activity, LFD requires some old fashioned communication. If you humanize yourself to the other players you’ll get treated a lot better.

  2. Jayd July 16, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    Love your post Calsong, and agree wholeheartedly with everything! If only more people read this and took it to heart. Wow is all about the community for a lot of people, including myself, and it always slumps a lot right before an expansion.

    Also regarding the humanising yourself in the LFDs, I agree as well. Even if you just say ‘hi all’ it seems to start a conversation and if people are actually talking and enjoying the run, they’re less likely to act like pricks.

    • calsong July 16, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

      It’s a well kept secret that it is harder to be cruel to a person than a cartoon character. In a pug recently a regular trade troll was saying some pretty harsh stuff. I quietly whispered him letting him know it hurt and I didn’t appreciate it.

      He stopped. It’s hard to imagine, but even trolls are people.

  3. Pugnacious Priest July 18, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    I jump over the Gap in ironforge on differnt mounts to see if it makes a difference in my fail/sucess rate, but people make the difference between being bored and not, much more fun doing stuff with other people, even if its a MC run for their rep

    • calsong July 18, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

      I agree with you! Its a social game, and its pretty boring to play it alone (long term, that is).

      What’s the best mount for that? The longest time I spent in Ironforge was fishing up Old Ironjaw (got ganked a few times on the way)

  4. chui July 19, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    with the over 9000 ach, there must not be too many achievements for you to do on your main, and repeating them again on an alt would be painful. I really like the idea of building a group of friends / guildies to do achievements or content that may be unfamiliar or just needs to be dusted off (mounts like HSeth or pets Lowbers / ubers?) the social aspect is paramount for those of us who aren’t raiders or would like to be. Getting accomplishments for/with friends feels just as good helping them as it does getting them yourself.

    • calsong July 24, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      I’ve spent the last few weeks leading a group through 10 ICC heroic modes even though I don’t need gear and already have the drake. I’m not blowing my own horn here, so much as pointing out I actually enjoy seeing others reach their WoW-goals.

Leave a Reply

