31 Talent point Trees?

7 Jul

You heard it!  Blizzard is pushing forward a significant overhaul of all talent trees.  You can read the complete Blue Posts here, but I’ll give you the Reader’s Digest version.

  • At level 10 you’ll pick a specialization, get some iconic abilities and your first talent.
  • Every couple of levels thereafter you’ll be able to put talents into deeply refined talent trees in that specialization until you’ve hit the 31 point talent.
  • These talents will feel as meaningful as the abilities you’ll get roughly every other level.
  • Rotations are staying similar.  Fun talents are sticking around.

This is… good.  One concern I had about the revised shadow tree is the extent to which it still contained passive abilities like darkness (percentage increase to shadow damage).  Without those talents, it become hard to prevent shadow priests from being significantly more powerful damagers than holy priests.  This change toward specialization and fewer, more meaningful talents reduces the bulk, maintains the feeling, and gives Blizzard more options.

My concern: minor as it is, I want my out of talent dip to feel meaningful.  This is easy for pure dps classes, and even for classes with multiple damage or healing spec to have viable cross-talents.  In the past they’ve done a decent job at talents that “increase healing and damage of instant cast spells” or “increase the crit chance of your next cast by 25% and make it cost no mana.”  These balanced abilities are doing so see a little more showcasing in a leaner set of talents.

6 Responses to “31 Talent point Trees?”

  1. Taryble July 7, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    I’ll be quite honest, the current beta build, they hadn’t really done any pruning of Paladin and Priest builds, from what I’d seen (or in a couple of earlier Alpha builds that I got to play with, too).

    However, now I’m looking forward to the beta build that’s going to include this change. I can’t wait to see what the new trees look like.

    Also, I love the idea of specialization actually meaning something. Iconic abilities for your spec at level 10? Heck yes! Passive bonuses based on your spec (similar to the Masteries in the earlier alphas/betas), except ALWAYS at maximum? Please, thank you!

  2. calsong July 7, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    I’m inclined to agree with you. The changes seem radical, but solid. Blizzard seems to have a strong grasp on what they want everything to look like.

    Next Beta build is gonna answer some interesting questions.

  3. Docatron July 8, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    I am much more sceptic than you. One smaller point I think is being overlooked at the moment because of the impact of the change is the aligning of PvE and PvP specific talents. Blizzard want to move away from PvE or PvP defining talents and thereby making a potential build viable for both aspects of the game. Now my alarm bells are going off, because as we have seen in the past, PvP balancing changes often impact (read: nerf) PvE players. If there are even less distinction between the two talent wise, the risk of changes for one affecting the other is huge. I think Blizzard is making it harder for themselves to balance the classes for both PvE and PvP at the same time.

  4. calsong July 8, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    That’s a reasonable point. On the other hand, as a shadow priest who has to respec ever night to do 3s and raid (CCs have no place in RAIDING!), I welcome some talents with viability in both environments.

    We’ll have to see what Blizzard roles out. They know this game pretty darn well, and most of them play it.

    • Docatron July 8, 2010 at 9:43 am #

      Don’t get me wrong. I like to have as much versatility in one build as possible. I would welcome it with open arms if it wasn’t for the PvE vs PvP balancing issue I mentioned. I hate that I have to dedicate one of my builds to PvP if I want to be decent at it. That’s why I am not PvPing. I need to be able to alternate between two raiding builds more than having one raiding build and one PvP.

      • calsong July 8, 2010 at 11:02 am #

        WTB Trispec?

Leave a Reply

