WoW-Goals. What keeps us going?

26 Jun

I do a little bit of interviewing in my role as an officer.  I conduct interviews with applicant players, and I make a point of touching base with new and old players, in a more informal way, about how they’re doing in the guild and if they’d like to see changes.  One of the questions I like to ask, in both situations, is

“What are your three biggest WoW-Goals for current content? They can be short term, long term, possible, impossible, raid, PvP, personal or achievement based, boss kill, loot drop, or new BFF.”

I’ve gotten some meaningful answers.  Some of these answers have helped me direct and drive where the guild is going, and help to try and have these things happen.  One player’s goal was to finish the BC heroics.  That took and hour and the help of two guild members, and it made his time in WoW all the more enjoyable.

My three, in no particular order:

It’s Over Nine Thousand.  I’m close, at 8825, and I’m plugging away at it every day.  I don’t want the feat of strength, so much as the chance to explore all of the game aspects it took to get there.  This has been a personal quest, and a group one, so I’m loving every minute of it.

Be a part of a 2200 rated arena team.  I’m working on this one, and I have a lot to learn.  I know the theory, but I need the practice.  I have two amazing partners, and a viable composition.  We just need to invest the time to make it happen!

Phylactery of the Nameless Lich.  This is an item drop, but I’ve come to the conclusion its a lie.  I really want it, although I’d settle for the shinny new trinket from Ruby Sanctum.  Realistically, this it just a small part of my motivation to keep raiding, and it would be replaced as a goal with the next spiffy epic.  That said, its still really shiny.

Your turn!  What three goals do you have?  What exciting new opportunities are you looking forward to?

6 Responses to “WoW-Goals. What keeps us going?”

  1. pve rogues June 30, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Personally I want to experience just about everything in game I can possibly get my hands on. =o

  2. calsong July 6, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    /agree

  3. Cassandri July 11, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    For me it’s the Insane in the Membrane achievement. I’m a bit scared about what might happen when I get it. I might just give up on the game altogether!

    (I hope that’s not the case).

    And Phalactery definitely *does* exist.

    • Cassandri July 11, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

      And chances are, nobody in your raid will want it except you, so you should be able to win it cheaply!

      • calsong July 11, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

        I already have Insane. I thought I might quit after I got it, but I was wrong.

        The other night Phylactery dropped, but by then I had the spiffy new trinket off Ruby Sanctum. I passed it to one of our more amazing ranged dps.

      • calsong July 11, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

        Also, I notice you suggest no one else would want it. I guess we run in very different raid comps. I have a mage in love with fire dps, 3 warlocks, and my apprentice shadow priest. DoT trinks are in demand!

Leave a Reply

