New Blog, New Perspective

9 Jun

I’m getting my feet wet here, and we’ll see how it goes.

On the value of blogging as a process:

Like a lot of people who play World of Warcraft, I spend a good deal of time in front of a computer.  By making this time productive (read, literally producing something, not to be mistaken for accomplishing something) I end the day with a written record of my thoughts on guild progress and game changes, day by day.  This is better than embarrassing oneself with a forum emo-rage every time Blizzard announces a change, or a post on guild forums whenever I have a passing thought.

On Content:

While this blog is 100% for my benefit, I would like to write it with a reader base in mind.  I love helping other people in game, and I’m very involved in community building in-game and out.  Post will be about guild leadership, policy changes, and class developments I find exciting.  If I end up with a readership (perhaps doubtful), I’d be happy to take requests.

On my interests, in-game:

My main is a shadow priest.  I have played all specs of priest and keep up with them.  At the moment, I arena in shadow and raid in shadow.  I love the lore of the priest and its darker, more malevolent spec, and I love a high management playstyle.  I currently have a disciple I refer to as my sith apprentice.  I trained at the hand of a single shadow priest, who moved on and left me to find another apprentice to pass on what I know.  I think I’ll post more on that later.

I have the “Insane in the Membrane” achievement and title.  I like big projects, and tend to break them down into small and manageable goals.  I may devote a post to this method (and madness) in the future.

I also tank on a paladin.  I leveled a paladin so I could become stronger at playing my priest.  Knowing more of what goes on in a raid does make you a better player.  I will devote some time to posting on paladins as a result of the love I discovered for the shadow-challenged light-wielders.

Following a sort of WotLK conqueror-set theme, I also have an affliction warlock.  I leveled her on a bet, when destruction was the spec-to-be, that I could out dps as affliction.  I did.  Dot management is an acquired skill.

I read somewhere short, frequent posts are advised.  This site is a work in progress.  That said, I’m writing to an imaginary readership, so I’m certain you won’t mind.

Leave a Reply

